Spread the love

The Kogi State House of Assembly has debunked the story making round social media platform that the Speaker of the House, Prince Matthew Kolawola has been impeached.

The Chairman, House Committee on Information, Hon. Tenimu Isah (Lokoja 1) stated this on Friday in Lokoja said the rumour of impeachment of the Speaker was from the embattled four Assembly members who were impeached and suspended as principal officer on Friday.

Those four impeached on the floor on Friday were; Ahmed(Ankpa 1); Majority Leader, Abdullahi Balogun (Ajaokuta); Deputy Majority Leader, Idris Ndako, (Lokoja 2) and Chief Whip, Moses Ododo (Dekina 1).

Three of the impeached lawmakers were also suspended from participating in the activities of the House till further notice. They are the former Deputy Speaker, Majority Leader and the Chief Whip.

Hon. Isah while reacting on the sideline of the rumour said the impeachment of the former principal officer was done on the floor of the Assembly, wondered where the impeachment of the Speaker was carried out.

“If you see the statement and document about the removal of the Speaker, Prince Matthew Kolawola, you will know that it was full of falsehood. First they complained that their was no due process in calling for today’s sitting. Whereas, their was proclamation to that effect. According to the House Rules, It is the Speaker that has the authority to issue proclamation; and he did it on Wednesday.

“In the purported circulated release, they (the four members) stated that signature for the Speaker’s impeachment was collated on May 10, 2022 and effected on June 13, 2022. Unfortunately in their effort to install falsehood, they forgot that June 13 was a public holiday. So where did they sit?

“The signature they are spreading around was one detached from a previous attendance sheet. It was the signature when the Assembly members passed a resolution in support of the Governor, Yahaya Bello.

“I make bold to tell you that Prince Matthew Kolawole is in charge and there was no such thing as impeachment on him. The House is moving on and now concern with making law, and legislating on issues that has direct impact on the people of the state.”

Meanwhile, new officers have been elected and sworn in to take over their positions.

They are Hon. Rabiu Alfa Isaka as Deputy Speaker Idah Umar as Deputy Majority Leader; Muktar Bajeh as Majority Leader and Ahmed Dahiru as Chief Whip.

The 25 House members are all APC.

Credit: People’s defender

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *